Alysia Caringi

Alysia is nearing her one year mark at CrossFit Elevation and has really been standing out as a force to be reckoned with in the gym. She is always working on strengthening her skills and striving to make her weaknesses her strengths. Her hard work is evident and we are all extremely proud of how far she's come. We'll let her tell you more below...


Age: 27

Occupation: I'm the Marketing Manager for Evolve Vacation Rental, which is a startup that helps people rent out their vacation homes to travelers. I also recently started selling socks on Amazon....and I do freelance web design.

How long have you been with Elevation?: Next month (September) I'll have been at Elevation for 1 year!

How did you get started?: For most of my life I actually never really exercised at all. In fact, I always talked about how dumb it was. Then, I think after college I just didn't really have much to do in my free time and my parents had gotten really into biking and fitness. I started biking with them, which launched my whole interest in working out. After getting bored with biking, I started doing fitness DVDs like P90x and Insanity...but that eventually got old, too.

I first heard about Crossfit from Nerd Fitness. I finally gave it a try after buying a Groupon for a gym in Detroit and loved it! When I moved to Denver I found Crossfit Elevation and it's been a great experience. I don't think I can ever go back to working out on my own.

Favorite workout?: Good question. I really like Deadlifts, double unders, box jumps, running, and kettlebell anything with those movements. Maybe Helen? Although, I don't think I've actually ever done that one...but it seems like it would be fun.

Least favorite workout?: "Fran". Or anything with Thrusters. If I never had to do another thruster again in my life it would be too soon.

Your biggest accomplishment?: In relation to Crossfit? Maybe being able to deadlift twice my body weight. That's been my goal since I started working out and I finally achieved it this year. Either that or being able to do pull ups. I didn't think I'd ever be able to do a pull up. 

The hardest thing you've learned/still learning?: Definitely the hardest thing I'm learning is how to be okay with failing. A lot of times I don't push myself enough because I don't want to end up failing...when really, I think you learn the most when you fail. And when you do succeed, it's that much better! 

Your favorite nutritional tip?: My favorite nutritional tip is probably to just be mindful when you eat. A lot of times the focus is more on restricting things and people get so busy that when they eat, they aren't even paying attention. Your relationship with food can be a lot better when you enjoy what you're eating and then pay attention to how you feel afterward and adjust your diet accordingly.

Favorite recipe or meal?: Well, I'm a white girl so naturally breakfast is my favorite meal. If I could just eat at brunch restaurants every day for the rest of my life, I'd be totally fine with that. But the thing I eat for breakfast pretty much every weekday is literally the easiest thing to make. I guess it's what you could call an egg casserole...or maybe a quiche without the crust.

Here's the recipe:

1 zucchini, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 tomato, chopped
1 cup of kale, chopped
10 eggs
dash of salt and pepper

Put everything except the eggs and salt and pepper into a greased slow cooker and mix it up/spread across the pot evenly. Crack the eggs into a separate bowl, season with salt and pepper, and whisk. Pour the eggs over the veggies. Cook for 3-4 hours. When it's done, cut it up into evenly sized pieces (I cut it into 5 portions) and enjoy! It's best topped with goat cheese and salsa.

Most helpful recovery tip?: This is definitely something I need to work on more. I guess my tip would be to actually do something to recover. Stretch after your workouts, foam roll, use the lacrosse ball, etc. It's surprising how much your workouts improve when you actually take the time to get some good stretching in every day.